
 
TEXAS MORTUARY LAW EXAM APPLICATION 

 
$89.00 NON-REFUNDABLE EXAM FEE 

INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE PROCESSED 
 
Name____________________________________________________________________________     
  (Last)                                   (First)                              (Middle) 

Address___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Email Address __________________________________________ Telephone___________________ 
                                         (MANDATORY)                                                           (MANDATORY) 

Date of Birth__________________________    Social Security #______________________________  
                             (MANDATORY)                                                   (MANDATORY) 
 
 
Reason for Taking Exam:    

 Applying for Provisional Funeral Director and/or Embalmer License 
 Applying for Reinstatement of License 
 Applying for Reciprocal Funeral Director and/or Embalmer 
 Other ______________________________________________________________________ 

 
Are you requesting a retake? _________  
 
 
Important Information for Applicants 
Be sure the email and mailing address is current. Correspondence from the Commission regarding your 
exam will not be forwarded.  
 
Following submission of this form and exam fee, please allow 10 business days for staff to authorize 
your taking the exam with the online vendor.  
 
Do not contact the Commission inquiring about authorization to take the exam during this time period. 
 
Results for the Mortuary Law Exam will be emailed to the examinee upon completion of the exam.  
 
A passing score of 75 is required. If you are not successful in passing the exam, you may retake the 
exam again by re-submitting this application and application fee.  
 

 
 

Mail Completed Application and Fee: 
Texas Funeral Service Commission 

333 Guadalupe St., Suite 2-110 
Austin, Texas 78701 

 



Texas Mortuary Law Examination 
The Mortuary Law Exam is a 50 question open-book computerized exam that must be 
taken online through the TFSC website.  
 
NOTE: The exam must be completed within a two-hour block of time. The applicant 
should ensure he/she will be able to complete the exam within the proscribed time 
period without interruptions prior to starting the exam.  
 
 
Steps: 

1. Applicant submits a completed Texas Mortuary Law Application, along with the 
non-refundable exam fee, to the Commission.  

2. Commission receives application. 
3. Within 10 business days, Commission sends letter/email to applicant containing 

Access Code ID#.  
4. Access Code ID# will be valid for 60 days. If you do not log on to register for the 

exam within that timeframe, your application will go void. The exam fee will not 
be refunded. 

5. Applicant logs onto Commission website to register for exam using the Access 
Code ID# provided. The online catalog has two test options. Please note your 
Access Code ID# will only allow you to access the appropriate test.  

6. Follow online instructions to register for the exam. Once registered you have 7 
days to take the exam. Failure to take the exam within the 7 days, will result in 
you failing the exam. The exam fee will not be refunded.  

7. TAKE EXAM within two-hour block of time.  
8. Exam results will be emailed upon completion of the exam.  

 
 
 


	Name____________________________________________________________________________
	(Last)                                   (First)                              (Middle)
	Address___________________________________________________________________________
	Email Address __________________________________________ Telephone___________________


