
 

TEXAS FUNERAL SERVICE COMMISSION 
FY19 – 4TH QUARTER NEWSLETTER 
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July 3, 2019 
 
I love summer! The sun, the heat, swimming, and, of course, air-conditioning!  Summer means 
lazy days (for my kids especially), late nights and lots of swimming!  
 
Some fun facts about all things summer …. did you know that watermelons aren’t a fruit, but a 
vegetable? They belong to the cucumber family of vegetables. The Eiffel tower actually grows in 
the heat of the summer. Due to the iron expanding, the tower grows about 6 inches every summer. 
Frisbees, a summer picnic staple, were invented in the 1870’s as a pie plate, but in the 1940’s, 
college students began throwing them around instead! My least favorite thing about summer? 
Mosquitos – apparently they have existed on earth for more than 30 million years. 
 
I think I mentioned in last year’s July newsletter, but July is National Ice Cream month! I could 
eat ice cream for breakfast, lunch and dinner! My favorite is anything chocolate, but mint 
chocolate chip is a close runner up.  
 
The agency did well during the recent Legislative Session . Our Sunset legislation – extending the 
agency for another 12 years – was enacted and the agency received additional funds to help it 
manage those Sunset recommendations. The additional appropriations will not result in an 
increase in licensing fees.  
 
The agency is in the process of updating many of its administrative rules – be sure to review and 
comment if you have an opinion on what we are proposing.  
 
As always, please feel free to share your thoughts and concerns with me. 
 
Yours truly, 

 
Janice S. McCoy 
Executive Director 
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Updates at the Commission 
Fee Rule Changes Adopted   
At its June meeting, the Commission adopted amendments to 22 Tex. Admin. Code Chapter 204 
regarding its fee structure. The agency is amending its fees as a result of action by the Department 
of Information Resources (DIR). Under the adopted proposal, the fees paid by licensees will either 
decrease or stay the same. The rule will become final on July 12, 2019, and will take effect with 
September renewals and applications.   
 
Sunset Update   
HB 1540 is the legislation which adopts the Texas Sunset Advisory Commission 
recommendations and continues the agency for another 12 years. The bill was signed by the 
Governor on May 23, 2019. The agency continues to work to update its rules and policies to 
comply with the Sunset Advisory Commission’s directives.   
 
Facts About Funerals Brochure  
As a result of the Sunset legislation, starting in September, establishments will no longer be 
required to purchase the Facts About Funerals brochure from the agency. The agency is in the 
process of updating the brochure to reflect changes required by Sunset and will upload a copy of 
the brochure to its website. A funeral establishment may download that brochure to provide to 
customers as required by Tex. Occ. Code 651.404.  
 
The agency will continue to sell the brochure for those funeral homes which prefer the 
convenience of purchasing pre-printed brochures.  
 

Commission Proposes Rule Changes 
In response to the Sunset directives and in collaboration with stakeholders, the Commission has 
proposed amendments to its rules. These proposals will be published in an upcoming edition of 
the Texas Register for a 30-day public comment period. The text of the proposed amendments 
can be found on the agency’s website at www.tfsc.texas.gov/news. The agency encourages 
everyone to review the changes and make comments – either positive or negative.  
 
A summary of the proposal is outlined later in the newsletter. Issues that may be of more interest 
are highlighted, but please review the actual text of all the amendments found on the agency’s 
website.  
 
 

Upcoming Commission Meetings 
The next TFSC meeting will occur on Tuesday, September 10, 2019 at 9:00 a.m. in Room 2-225 of 
the William P. Hobby Building in Austin, Texas.  
 
If you, as a licensee in good standing, are interested in giving the invocation at a future meeting, 
please contact the Executive Director at janice.mccoy@tfsc.texas.gov  to have your name added to 
the agency’s Invocation Registry. 

 

  

http://www.tfsc.texas.gov/news
mailto:janice.mccoy@tfsc.texas.gov
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Summary of Proposed Amendments to TFSC Rules 
Chapter 203 Subchapter A – Licensing  

 Rule §203.1, Funeral Director and Embalmer License Requirements and Procedure – The 
changes would clarify a licensee can renew a license up to 60 days prior to his/her expiration 
date and would provide the Executive Director could waive licensing requirements for certain 
military applicants under Tex. Occ. Code Chapter 55.  

 Rule §203.3, Retired/Disabled License – The changes would remove language requiring 
certain applicants to take continuing education to conform to Rule §203.8 and would provide 
in rule the fee for these licenses is one-half the amount of an active license.  

 Rule §203.4, Reciprocal License – The changes conform the rule to updates to Tex. Occ. Code 
651.259 related to how and why the agency reviews criminal histories on out-of-state 
applicants and conforms the review to Rule §203.8. Additionally, the changes would provide 
the Executive Director could waive licensing requirements for certain military reciprocal 
applicants under Tex. Occ. Code Chapter 55. 

 Rule §203.5, Provisional License – The changes would clarify how a person who is no longer 
officially enrolled in school but not yet a certified graduate could continue to hold a license. 
The changes would clarify that a licensee who entered the provisional program on an 
education waiver would only get additional months added to the 24-month maximum term 
for those months he/she was not enrolled in classes. The changes would clarify an applicant 
would only have to take the applicable examinations required by law based on the type of 
license being sought, and would clarify persons who submit to a criminal background check 
but fail to submit an application within 6 months may be required to re-submit to a 
subsequent criminal background check.  

 Rule §203.8, Continuing Education – The changes would (1) allow the Commission to accept 
continuing education courses approved by the Academy of Professional Funeral Service 
Providers in lieu of agency review and approval as the Academy has more expertise in course 
approval; (2) provide the certificate of attendance must include whether the course was online 
or in person; (3) require all active licensees to take 16 hours of continuing education regardless 
of where they practice; (4) exempt persons in retired or disabled status from continuing 
education; (5) remove language stating it is the licensee’s responsibility to track continuing 
education hours; (6) update mandatory continuing education on law to include content on 
Health & Safety Code Chapter 716, (7) remove content related to Health & Safety Code 
Chapter 715 from mandatory Vital Statistics continuing education; (8) require four of the 16 
required continuing education hours to be taken in person; (9) remove the use of college 
courses as continuing education; (10) clarify instructors of continuing education could get two 
hours of continuing education per course; (11) provide licensees who supervise provisional 
licensees could earn 8 hours of continuing education, up from 4; (12) remove language 
allowing licensees not practicing in the state to complete only the mandatory continuing 
education; (13) remove language requiring retired, active/disabled, active licensees to take 10 
hours of continuing education; (14) eliminate the ability to carry-over continuing education 
hours from one renewal period to another; (15) remove authority to pay non-compliance fee 
instead of taking continuing education; and (16) renumber language regarding continuing 
education requirements for military licensees without making any substantive changes.  

 Rule §203.9, Licensure of Funeral Establishments and Commercial Embalming 
Establishments – The changes would require forms submitted during the establishment 
application process to have a placeholder to insert license number (when issued); and would 
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authorize the agency to cancel an establishment license if the renewal is not received within 
90 days after the expiration date. The amendment also would require an applicant for a new 
funeral establishment to have paid all outstanding penalties, including all payments under a 
payment plan, before a new license will be issued. 

 Rule §203.11, Establishment Names and Licensing – The changes would require an 
establishment to include the establishment’s license number on the establishment’s website’s 
contact page and would remove references to cemeteries from the rule as the Commission no 
longer has authority to regulate cemeteries.  

 Rule §203.14, State Agency Action as a Basis for License Suspension, Revocation or Denial – 
The rule is proposed for repeal as the agency has determined it cannot take action under the 
rule until the agency first takes action under its enforcement process.   

 
Chapter 203 Subchapter B – Duties of a Funeral Establishment/Licensee 

 Rule §203.24, Display of License -- Changes to the rule would require the licenses on display 

at a funeral establishment be current (not expired); clarify that the licenses of temporary 

employees could be copies and do not have to be displayed; and clarify copies of licenses for 

both regular full time and regular part time employees no longer employed must be kept at 

the establishment for two years after employment ends.   

 Rule §203.26, Presentation of Consumer Brochure – The changes would eliminate language 

requiring an establishment to purchase the consumer brochure from the Commission.   

 Rule §203.27, Identification of Person Responsible for Making Arrangements – The changes 

would provide that a person should acknowledge his/her right to control the disposition of 

the deceased in writing, if possible.   

 Rule §203.31, Facilities Necessary in a Preparation Room – The changes would provide the 

operating table must be non-porous instead of rust proof metal or porcelain and the 

preparation room be used only for purposes related to the care of the deceased instead of “not 

used for other purposes.” The proposed amendments also clarify the preparation room 

should not have any public restrooms, whether unenclosed or not. They require the 

preparation room to have appropriate personal protection equipment related to universal 

precautions. The proposed changes allow the Commission to require funeral establishments 

granted a preparation room exemption under §203.10 to have a room that conforms with some 

of the standards if human remains are ever present at the establishment.  

 Rule §203.32, Requirements Relating to Embalming – The changes would eliminate the 

requirement clothing/personal effects be “thoroughly disinfected” and instead just state they 

should be “disinfected” as the Commission believes an item is either disinfected or it is not. 

The proposed amendment eliminates the specific requirement of one gallon of dilute solution 

per 50 pounds of body weight and instead allows for “sufficient” solution be used such that 

the embalmer if satisfied that the deceased will be presentable to the public.   

 Rule §203.33, Required Documentation for Embalming – The changes would eliminate 

citations to other statutes that concern the disposal of unclaimed bodies by county officials 

and the Anatomical Board’s authority to receive unclaimed bodies. The proposed amendment 

also would allow a funeral establishment to include its logo on the Commission’s 

Authorization to Embalm Form.  
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 Rule §203.35, Location of Retained Records – The changes would permit a funeral 

establishment to release records to the person responsible for making arrangements for final 

disposition and not just to family members. With respect to petitions requesting an exemption 

from the requirement for the location of retained records by licensed establishments, the 

proposed amendments would require that records of different establishments not be 

commingled. The proposed changes provide an appeal process that an applicant whose 

petition for an exemption has been denied may follow. They also provide that a funeral 

establishment is authorized to maintain its records in a digital or electronic format, as long as 

it can print the records at the establishment. 

 

Subchapter C – Enforcement 

 Rule §203.41, Investigations – The changes would provide the investigator send a summary 
of the complaint instead of a copy of the complaint upon opening an investigation to ensure 
confidentiality of complainant during initial stages of investigation. It would allow the 
respondent to request a redacted copy of the complaint upon request.  

 Rule §203.42, Notice and Hearings – The changes would list the types of informal methods a 
respondent could use to settle a complaint to include negotiation with the staff attorney or an 
informal settlement conference with the executive director, staff attorney, investigator; would 
provide an informal settlement conference must allow the complainant an opportunity to be 
present; and changes would clarify how a case is closed if a settlement is reached via informal 
methods.   

 Rule §203.43, Administrative Penalties and Sanctions – The changes would allow the agency 
to adopt higher penalties for a violation if the respondent had multiple violations on his/her 
records even if the violations were not the same; and would authorize the Commission to 
require a respondent to pay a refund to a consumer in lieu of or in addition to an 
administrative penalty.  Additionally, the sanction schedule is updated to reflect new 
violations added to statute by legislation.  

 Rule §203.44, Procedures and Criteria for Inspections of Licensed Entities – The changes 
would delete references to cemeteries and eliminate Health & Safety Code Chapters 714 and 
715 from inspection reviews as the Commission no longer has authority to regulate 
cemeteries. The amendments would establish reasons for the Commission to perform risk-
based inspections to include previously found inspection violations, multiple enforcement 
violations, establishments with a change of ownership, and newly issued licenses. They 
would allow the Commission to inspect risk-based establishments annually; and would allow 
a risk-based establishment to be declassified as such if it has two consecutive inspections 
without violations and/ or it has no proven violations within a two-year period. Finally, the 
changes would renumber a provision that allows the Commission to inspect an establishment 
as a result of a complaint with the limited scope of proving/disproving the complaint.  

 Rule §203.45, Unprofessional Conduct – The changes would provide it is unprofessional 
conduct for all licensed entities not just funeral establishments to operate in an unsanitary 
manner; and would provide it is unprofessional conduct to fail to make payment for services 
rendered on behalf of a consumer as the Commission believes the consumer ultimately could 
be harmed for the failure to pay.   

 Rule §203.47, Purchase Agreement (Statement of funeral goods and services selected) – The 
changes would provide update as directed by HB 1731 enacted by the 86th Legislature 
regarding payments between funeral homes on behalf of a consumer being required to be 
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included on a purchase agreement., specifically the charges related to removal, refrigeration, 
embalming (if authorized), transportation, and casket (if used).  

 

Chapter 205 – Crematories & Cemeteries  

 Chapter 205, Cemeteries and Crematories, is being amended to remove references to 
cemeteries as a direct result of HB 1540, passed by the 86th Texas Legislature which repeals 
the Commission’s authority over cemeteries.  

 Rule §205.1, Cemetery License Requirements and Procedure – The rule is proposed for repeal 
as a direct result of HB 1540, passed by the 86th Texas Legislature which repeals the 
Commission’s authority over cemeteries. 

 Rule §205.2 - Ingress and Egress to Cemeteries and Private Burial Grounds Which Have No 
Public Ingress or Egress – The rule is proposed for repeal as a direct result of HB 1540, passed 
by the 86th Texas Legislature which repeals the Commission’s authority over cemeteries. 

 Rule §205.5, Acceptance of Remains – The changes would delete language prohibiting certain 
crematories from accepting human remains for cremation until the cremation is authorized 
by a justice of the peace/medical examiner and instead mirror statute to allow a crematory to 
accept human remains for refrigeration before receiving authority to cremate.  

 

Chapter 206 – Guaranteed Student Loans  

Chapter 206 is being repealed in its entirety as a result of action by the 86th Legislature (SB 37 by 

Senator Judith Zaffirini). This legislation prohibits licensing authorities from enacting rules that 

bar license holders who are in default on student loans from renewing their licenses. Therefore, 

this proposal would repeal the Commission’s rule which allows the Commission to take such 

action.  
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FY 19 Third Quarter (March-April-May) Updates 
Legal 
During the third quarter, the staff attorney was asked to mediate 8 complaints in which staff 
found violations had occurred. All 8 complaints were successfully resolved with an Agreed Order 
between the Commission and the respondent for a total penalty amount of $5,750.   Two of the 8, 
resulted in a Letter of Warning. Seven cases were closed with respondent not contesting finding 
of violation for a total penalty amount of $7,250.  
 
The agency issued 7 cease and desist orders and repealed 5 during the same quarter. The cease 
and desist orders were issued for failure to renew license and failure to pay administrative 
penalties.  

 
Enforcement 
During the third quarter, the compliance division conducted 297 inspections of its licensed 
facilities – 260 funeral homes, 8 commercial embalming facilities, and 29 crematories. 121 of the 
entities were found to have deficiencies, but most were corrected within the 15-day allotted time 
frame. Four of the inspections were for new establishments – all funeral homes.  
 
The compliance division received 45 new complaints during the third quarter. It resolved 38 
complaints during the third quarter with 11 of the investigations resulting in disciplinary action. 
At the end of the quarter, there were 40 pending complaints. On average, it took 121 days to 
resolve a complaint.  
 

Licensing 
During the third quarter, the licensing division issued 130 new provisional licenses and 7 
reciprocal licenses. A total of 545 individual licenses were renewed.  There were 8 new entities 
licensed – 7 funeral homes and 1 crematory. The division renewed 389 entity licenses.  
 

 

Just for Fun 
Summer in Texas 
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Agency Contact Information 
 
Texas Funeral Service Commission 
333 Guadalupe Street, Ste. 2-110 
Austin, TX 78701 
    
Web Address 
www.tfsc.texas.gov 

 
Agency Directory 

Executive Director Janice McCoy (512) 936-2472 

Staff Attorney Kyle Smith (512) 936-2480 

Legal Assistant/PIO Kathy Sparks (512) 936-2469 

Administrator of Compliance Rodney van Oudekerke (512) 936-2470 

Administrator of Licensing / 
Individual, Establishment & 
Crematory Licensing Specialist 

Nikki Smith (512) 936-2479 

Accountant  Linda Fellinger (512) 936-2468 

Provisional Licensing Specialist Maria Haynes (512) 936-6552 

Administrative Assistant  Angie Pena (512) 936-2421 

Investigator Marty Manzi (512) 936-2484 

Inspector  Kyle Bass (512) 936-2488 

Inspector/Investigator Kyle Stanton (512) 936-2490 

Main Number  (512) 936-2474 

Toll Free Number  (888) 667-4881 

Fax Number  (512) 479-5064 

Email  info@tfsc.texas.gov 

          
* as of June 2019 

 

 

http://www.tfsc.state.tx.us/
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