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Happy Leap Year! We get an extra day this year. How are you going to spend it? 
 
Do you know why we have a leap year? It takes the Earth approximately 365, 5 hours, 48 minutes, 
and 45 seconds to circle once around the sun. Since our calendar only has 365 days, if we don’t 
add a leap day every four years, we would lose six hours off our calendar every year. I don’t 
know about you, but with two kids and a full time job, I can’t afford to lose six hours!  
 
Our Mortuary Law Exam went online in January. We are still working on a few bugs on the 
technical side, but so far it looks like it is a success.  
 
Today is the last day to fill out a customer satisfaction survey. We’ll tabulate the results and post 
them on the website soon. Hopefully, we can address any concerns raised.  
 
Finally, I would welcome comments on how you think the new rules are working. We’ve come 
across a few rules that may need to be clarified in an upcoming meeting. If there is something 
that doesn’t make sense to you, please let me know.  
 
As always, please feel free to share your thoughts and concerns with me. 
 
Yours truly, 

 
Janice S. McCoy 
Executive Director 
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Changes at the Commission 
The Commission hired Robert Puig as a Licensing Technician in January.  Robert was born in 
Eagle Pass, TX, raised in Laredo, TX, and has lived in the Austin area since 1984. He considers 
himself an Austinite since he has lived here longer than any other place. His work background is 
in computers (manufacturing, testing, and tech support) but after 25 years in the computer 
industry he decided to try something different. When he is not working he practices\teaches 
Wing Chun Kung Fu, listens to all kinds of music, attends concerts, reads, and does fun outdoor 
nature activities and Hill Country day trips with his wife. 
 
Robert is now the agency’s first point of contact on our phone system, so please give him a warm 
welcome if you call. And, with Robert’s arrival, Maria Haynes will now handle all Provisional 
Licensing. Maria has been with the agency since December 2013.  
 
 

Upcoming Commission Meetings 
The next TFSC meeting will be held Tuesday, June 21st, beginning at 9:00 am in Room 2-225 of 
the William P. Hobby Building in Austin, Texas. Licensed Texas funeral directors and embalmers 
can receive up to four hours of continuing education credit for attending a Commission meeting.  
 
The Commission has tentatively scheduled the following dates for future meetings: 

September 13, 2016 
December 13, 2016 

 
 

A Message from Licensing  
The Licensing Division fulfills the TFSC’s mission to protect the public from deceptive practices 
by performing licensing, registration, examination and continuing education functions.  
 
Renewals  
The online renewal system is administered by the Health Professions Council (an umbrella 
agency for health-related agencies including the Commission). The HPC runs the help-desk and 
is responsible for questions about renewing online – including resetting forgotten passwords. The 
HPC help-desk states it can take multiple days to respond to a help ticket, especially near the end 
of the month. The help-desk only responds to emailed help requests.  
 
Mortuary Law Exam 
The Mortuary Law Exam is now offered online only. Test takers are strongly encouraged to use 
Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox (version 16.0 or higher) to complete the examination.  
Additionally, if taking the exam at work, check with the IT department to ensure the security 
settings (firewalls) do not block the online exam. Refunds will not be given due to browser or 
firewall issues. 
 
All applicants must take and pass the Mortuary Law Exam prior to being issued a provisional 
license.  
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Change of Address 
Licensees must notify the Commission in writing if they have a change of address. This 
notification helps ensure mail communication to licensees is not delayed.  
 
Provisional Program Update 
A person who is not and has never been enrolled in an accredited school or college of mortuary 
science may receive a provisional license for a period of 12 months. It is important to note the 
license will not be renewed until the licensee shows he/she has enrolled in an accredited school 
or college of mortuary science.  
 
A licensee who does not complete the provisional program during the prescribed time may 
reapply for a provisional license. The applicant will have to retake and pass the mortuary law 
exam and may have to pay undergo a new background check. A person may only reapply one 
time, but there is no waiting period between licenses.  
 
Continuing Education   
All active license holders must complete 16 hours of continuing education every two years. 
Licensees who are on retired, active status or disabled, active status are required to obtain 10 
hours of continuing education. Inactive licensees are not required to take continuing education.  
 
The Commission performs a random audit of continuing education credits. Each month, 10 
percent of individual licensees will receive a letter with the renewal notice stating that he/she 
will have to submit his/her certificates to the Commission prior to renewal.  
 
Failure to complete required continuing education will delay renewal of the license and may 
cause additional fees and penalties to be imposed. It is the sole responsibility of the licensee to 
submit continuing education certificates to the Commission, even if the licensee renewed online.   
 
Duplicate License 
A licensee shall conspicuously display his/her license in each place of business at which the 
licensee practices. All licenses displayed must be the original embossed license issued by the 
Commission and may not be a copy of the original license. 
 
The fee for a duplicate license is $5.00 per license ordered.  
 
FDIC/EIC 
At all times a licensed funeral establishment must have a designated funeral director in charge 
(FDIC). The FDIC is ultimately responsible for compliance with all mortuary, health and vital 
statistics laws in the funeral establishment.  Commercial Embalming Establishments must have a 
designated embalmer in charge (EIC) at all times.  Funeral establishments that perform 
embalming services should only designate a FDIC, not both.  
 
Any time a FDIC/EIC changes establishments he/she must notify the Commission by submitting 
the prescribed forms within 15 days. All forms – FDIC Appointment/Removal and EIC 
Appointment/Removal - can be found on the TFSC website by following the “TFSC 
Establishment Licensing & Regulations” link.  
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Public Licensing Information 
A person can verify an individual/establishment is licensed with the Commission by accessing 
the TFSC website and following the “License Search & Verification” link. 
 
Publications 
All licensed funeral homes are required to provide the TFSC promulgated Facts about Funerals 
brochure to customers when funeral services are discussed. Funeral homes must order the 
brochure from the Commission.  
 
The Texas Funeral Service Commission Law Book (Effective Sept. 2015) can be purchased for 
$15.00. The law book includes the Commission’s governing statute, the Commission’s rules and 
other laws relevant to the death care industry.  
 
Publication order forms can be found on the TFSC website by following the “TFSC Forms” link.  
Please use this order form to avoid delays in shipment of orders. All orders must include a 
physical shipping address or the orders will not be processed.  

 
 

A Message from Compliance 
The Compliance Division fulfills the TFSC’s mission to protect the public from deceptive practices 
by inspecting establishments and investigating complaints.  
 
Complaints 
Written complaints musts be filed within two years of the event giving rise to the complaint. 
However, the Executive Director may waive this requirement if the complainant shows good 
cause for the late filing.  
 
Embalming 

Tex. Occ. Code §651.457 states “A person violates this chapter if the person embalms a body 

without receiving the express written or oral permission of a person authorized to make funeral 

arrangements for the deceased” (emphasis added).  

 

There has been an increase in complaints related to the use of the term “prepare the body” by a 

funeral director. To the licensed funeral director “prepare a body” may mean to embalm the 

deceased. However, a family member may understand “prepare a body” to mean something else 

to include removal, bathing, or dressing the body.  

 

Using the industry lingo “prepare the body” instead of expressly asking for permission to embalm 

may lead to embalming being performed without express permission being granted. While it may 

seem to be semantics, by making sure the family member knows he/she is being asked for 

permission to embalm, the funeral director could avoid possible administrative penalties and/or 

sanctions.  

 

The Administrator of Compliance encourages all funeral directors to stop using the term “prepare” 

in lieu of the term “embalm.” 

 



5 

 

Disposition of a Body 
One of the most common questions received by the Compliance Division relates to who has the 
right to control the disposition of a decedent’s body. This information is found in the Texas Health 
and Safety Code §711.002. Subsection (k) outlines the appropriate measures to be taken if there is 
a dispute among the people who may have the right to control the disposition of a decedent’s 
body. 
 

 

A Message from Legal 
The laws governing the death care industry are found in Texas Occupations Code Chapter 651, 
Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 716, and 22 Texas Administrative Code, Chapters 201-209. 
All the laws and rules can be found on the TFSC website by following the “TFSC Governing 
Laws” link. 
 
Informal/Formal Hearings for Violations 
For complaints that result in a finding of violation, a licensee may opt to negotiate the violation 
and penalty with the agency’s Staff Attorney instead of participating in an Informal Conference 
panel. If no resolution is reached, the case will be automatically set for a hearing at the State Office 
of Administrative Hearings (SOAH). After SOAH’s Administrative Law Judge has issued a 
Proposal for Decision the case will be taken to Commissioners for a final determination.  
 
Deadlines to Respond 
Under the rules, a licensee has a specified time to respond to the Commission. Failure to respond 
can result in additional violations and/or automatic license sanctions.  

22 TAC §203.41 – Licensee has 15 days to respond to notice of complaint  
22 TAC §203.42(b) – Licensee has 30 days to respond to initial finding of violation 
Tex. Occ. Code §651.555 – Licensee has 30 days to pay penalty after final Commission 
action  

 
Criminal Convictions 
22 TAC §203.15 requires a current licensee to disclose, in writing, any conviction at the time of 
renewal or no later than 30 days after judgment in the trial court, whichever date is earlier. It also 
requires an applicant to disclose in writing any conviction against him/her at the time of 
application. Licensees and applicants with a criminal conviction must fill out a questionnaire 
which can be found on the TFSC website.  
 
The Commission may suspend or revoke a license or refuse to issue a license on the grounds the 
licensee or applicant has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor that directly relates to the 
duties and responsibilities of the occupation of funeral director or embalmer.  
 
Public Information  
The Public Information Act gives a person the right to access government records without 
disclosing why the records are being requested. While all government information is presumed 
to be available to the public, certain exceptions may apply to the disclosure of the information. In 
the case of the TFSC, information concerning open investigations is exempt from disclosure by 
law. 
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For Your Information 
Cemetery Ingress/Egress 
Health & Safety Code §711.041 provides that any person who wishes to visit a cemetery or private 
burial grounds for which there is no public access shall have the right to reasonable ingress and 
egress for the purpose of visiting the cemetery or private burial grounds.  The owner of the 
property may determine reasonable hours of visitation and routes needed to access the cemetery.  
 
Preneed Funeral Contracts 
The Texas Department of Banking (DOB) regulates prepaid funeral merchandise or services. 
Prepaid funeral merchandise and services are defined as goods and services sold on a prepaid 
basis directly to the public for use in connection with future funeral services. Along with the 
normal funeral service items, prepaid funeral merchandise and services also include opening and 
closing of the grave and outer-burial containers. The term does not include a grave, marker, 
monument, tombstone, crypt, niche, plot, or lawn crypt unless it is sold in contemplation of trade 
for a funeral service or funeral merchandise. 
  
Any funeral home or cemetery that sells prepaid funeral merchandise or services in Texas must 
have: (1) a trust-funded permit issued by the DOB or (2) sell through an insurance-funded permit 
holder. 
  
Further information can be accessed at the DOB’s website at www.dob.texas.gov. 
 
Perpetual Care Cemetery  
A cemetery operated as a perpetual care cemetery means that a perpetual care fund for its 
maintenance has been established in conformity with state law. Perpetual care means the 
maintenance, repair and care of the cemetery. The Texas Department of Banking (DOB), not the 
Commission, regulates perpetual care cemeteries.   
 
Just for Fun 
 

 

       
  

http://www.dob.texas.gov/
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Agency Contact Information 
 
Mailing Address      Physical Address                
Texas Funeral Service Commission      Texas Funeral Service Commission 
PO Box 12217, Capitol Station      333 Guadalupe Street, Ste. 2-110 
Austin, TX 78711           Austin, TX 78701 
    
Web Address 
www.tfsc.texas.gov 

 
Agency Directory 

Executive Director Janice McCoy (512) 936-2474 

Staff Attorney Kyle Smith (512) 936-2480 

Legal Assistant/PIO Kathy Sparks (512) 936-2469 

Administrator of Compliance Rodney van Oudekerke (512) 936-2470 

Executive Assistant/Office 
Manager/Administrator of 
Licensing 

Martha Gussoni (512) 936-2468 

Chief Financial Officer Jennifer Noack (512) 936-2474 

Establishment & Crematory 
Licensing Specialist 

Nikki Smith (512) 936-2479 

Provisional Licensing Specialist Maria Haynes (512) 936-6552 

Reciprocal & Reinstatement 
Licensing Specialist  / Brochures 

Robert Puig (512) 936-2421 

Investigator  Jeff Morales  (512) 936-2466 

Investigator Marty Manzi (512) 936-2484 

Inspector   Bill Vanneste (512) 936-2490 

Inspector  Kyle Bass (512) 936-2488 

   

Main Number  (512) 936-2474 

Toll Free Number  (888) 667-4881 

Fax Number  (512) 479-5064 

Email  info@tfsc.texas.gov 

 

http://www.tfsc.state.tx.us/
mailto:info@tfsc.texas.gov

