TEXAS FUNERAL SERVICE COMMISSION

1ST QUARTER NEWSLETTER
September 2015 - November 2015

September 1, 2015

The end of summer. The start of school. It has been a busy couple of weeks for me. My children
are now first graders! I hope everyone remembers to slow down in those school zones and obey
school bus warnings.

Over the summer we got the new website up and running. I hope you’ve had a change to explore
it. If you have any feedback, positive or negative, I would love to hear it. I am always looking to
make things more efficient and effective for licensees and consumers.

And, the Commissioners adopted the proposed rules at the June meeting. The rules were open
for public comment for 30 days. I will be taking the final version to the Commissioners for
adoption this month. If they vote to move forward, the new rules will become effective 20 days
after the agency files them with the Secretary of State. Look to the “TFSC News & Things to
Know” page on our website for important updates.

As always, please feel free to share your thoughts and concerns with me.

Yours truly,

Janice S. McCoy
Executive Director




Changes at the Commission

In June Governor Greg Abbott appointed Jean Olinger to serve as Presiding Officer of the Texas
Funeral Service Commission. Commissioner Olinger has a master’s degree in social work, a
doctorate in management and organizational leadership, and a wide range of experience in

nursing facility management. She and her husband live in Blanco, Texas. She will serve as
Presiding Officer through June 2018.

The Commissioners voted at the June 9t meeting to update the fee charged for a Duplicate
License. Agency staff found the previous fee structure hard to manage. The fee for a Duplicate
License - no matter when it is ordered - is now $5 per license ordered.

The Facts About Funerals brochure has been updated. A funeral establishment may continue to
use the previous brochures until all have been distributed. New orders will be fulfilled with the
brochure dated September 2015.

The State of Texas Funeral Services Law Book (Effective Sept. 2015) will be available for purchase
no later than November 1, 2015. The new law book will include both the Commission’s governing
statute and the updated Rules of the Commission.

Upcoming Commission Meetings

The TFSC meeting will be held Tuesday, September 15, beginning at 9:00 am in Room 2-225 of
the William P. Hobby Building in Austin, Texas. Licensed Texas funeral directors and embalmers
can receive up to four hours of continuing education credit for attending a Commission meeting,.

The Commission has tentatively scheduled the following dates for future meetings:

September 15, 2015
December 8, 2015
March 1, 2016

June 21, 2016
September 13, 2016
December 13, 2016

A Message from Licensing

The Licensing Division fulfills the TFSC’s mission to protect the public from deceptive practices
by performing licensing, registration, examination and continuing education functions.

The current licensing work processes include (1) processing all initial provisional license
applications, reciprocal applications and reinstatement applications for funeral
directors/embalmers to include DPS/FBI fingerprint background checks; (2) administering
examinations for all individual licensees; (3) renewing individual licenses; (4) ensuring licensees
are current with their continuing education requirements and (5) processing all initial/renewal
establishment applications to include funeral homes, commercial embalming facilities,
crematories and certain cemeteries.




Change of Address
Licensees must notify the Commission in writing if they have a change of address. This
notification helps ensure that mail and communications to licensees is not delayed.

Continuing Education

All active license holders must complete 16 hours of continuing education prior to a license being
renewed. Licensees who are on retired, active status are required to obtain 10 hours of continuing
education. Inactive licensees are not required to take any continuing education.

The Commission performs a random audit of continuing education credits. Each month, 10
percent of individual licensees will receive a letter with the renewal notice stating that he/she
will have to submit his/her certificates to the Commission prior to renewal.

Failure to complete required continuing education will delay renewal of the license and may
cause additional fees and penalties to be imposed. It is the sole responsibility of the licensee to
submit continuing education certificates to the Commission, even if the licensee renewed online.

FDIC/EIC

At all times a licensed funeral establishment must have a designated funeral director in charge
(FDIC). The FDIC is ultimately responsible for compliance with all mortuary, health and vital
statistics laws in the funeral establishment. Commercial Embalming Establishments must have
at all times have a designated embalmer in charge (EIC). Funeral establishments that perform
embalming services should only designate a FDIC, not both.

Any time a FDIC/EIC changes the establishment must notify the Commission by submitting the
prescribed forms within 15 days. All forms - FDIC Appointment/Removal and EIC
Appointment/Removal - can be found on the TFSC website by following the “TFSC
Establishment Licensing & Regulations” link.

Duplicate License

A licensee shall conspicuously display his/her license in each place of business at which the
licensee practices. All licenses displayed must be the original embossed license issued by the
Commission and may not be a copy of the original license.

The fee for a duplicate license is $5.00 per license ordered.

Renewals

Funeral Directors and Embalmers can renew a license online. To renew online, go to
www.hpc.state.tx.us/message.php or follow the links from the TFSC website. The website
details what information is required for license issuance.

Licensees who renew online and do not receive a license in the mail should contact the
Commission. Be prepared to provide the transaction receipt received upon completion of renewal
online. Without a receipt, the Commission cannot trace the renewal.



http://www.hpc.state.tx.us/message.php

Publications

All licensed funeral homes are required to provide the TFSC promulgated Facts about Funerals
brochure to customers when funeral services are discussed. Funeral homes must order the
brochure from the Commission.

The State of Texas Funeral Services Law Book (Effective Sept. 2013) can be purchased for $15.00.
The law book includes the Commission’s governing statute but does not include the Rules of the
Commission. Rules of the Commission can be accessed through the TFSC website.

Publication order forms can be found on the TFSC website by following the “TFSC Forms” link.
Please use this order form to avoid delays in shipment of orders. All orders must include a
physical shipping address or the orders will not be processed.

Public Licensing Information
A person can verify that an individual/establishment is licensed with the Commission by
accessing the TFSC website and following the “License Search & Verification” link.

A Message from Compliance

The Compliance Division fulfills the TESC’s mission to protect the public from deceptive practices
by inspecting establishments and investigating complaints. The compliance work processes
include (1) ensuring each licensee is in compliance with the rules and regulations that govern the
death care industry in the state of Texas through investigation of consumer complaints and (2)
inspections of all establishments licensed by the TFSC.

Embalming

Tex. Occ. Code §651.457 states “A person violates this chapter if the person embalms a body
without receiving the express written or oral permission of a person authorized to make funeral
arrangements for the deceased” (emphasis added).

In recent months, the Commission has noticed an increase in the number of complaints related to
the use of the term “prepare the body” by a funeral director. To the licensed funeral director
“prepare a body” may mean to embalm the deceased. However, a family member may understand
“prepare a body” to mean something else to include removal, bathing, or dressing the body.

Using the industry lingo “prepare the body” instead of expressly asking for permission to embalm
may lead to embalming being performed without express permission being granted. While it may
seem to be semantics, by making sure the family member knows he/she is being asked for
permission to embalm, the funeral director could avoid possible administrative penalties and/or
sanctions.

The Director of Compliance encourages all funeral director to stop using the term “prepare” in lieu
of the term “embalm.”




Disposition of a Body

One of the most common questions received by the Compliance Division relates to who has the
right to control the disposition of a decedent’s body. This information is found in the Texas Health
and Safety Code §711.002. Additionally, Subsection (k) outlines the appropriate measures to be
taken if there is a dispute among the people who may have the right to control the disposition of
a decedent’s body.

A Message from Legal

The laws governing the death care industry are found in Texas Occupations Code (Tex. Occ.
Code) Chapter 651, Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 716, and Texas Administrative Code
(TAC) Title 22, Part 10. All the laws and rules can be found on the TFSC website by following the
“TFSC Governing Laws” link.

Criminal Convictions

TAC §203.33(j) requires a current licensee to disclose in writing any conviction at the time of
renewal or no later than 30 days after judgment in the trial court, whichever date is earlier. It also
requires an applicant to disclose in writing any conviction against him/her at the time of
application. Licensees and applicants with a criminal conviction must fill out a questionnaire
which can be found on the TFSC website.

The Commission may suspend or revoke a license or refuse to issue a license on the grounds that
the licensee or applicant has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor that directly relates to
the duties and responsibilities of the occupation of funeral director or embalmer.

Public Information

The Public Information Act gives a person the right to access government records without
disclosing why the records are being requested. While all government information is presumed
to be available to the public, certain exceptions may apply to the disclosure of the information. In
the case of the TFSC, information concerning open complaints and investigations is exempt from
disclosure.

For Your Information

Military Funeral Honors

Anyone providing Military Funeral Honors for an eligible veteran should visit the Department
of Defense Military Funeral Honors website at www.dmdc.osd.mil/mfh for information. The
website serves as a resource tool for funeral directors as they assist veterans' families by arranging
Military Funeral Honors. The core elements of the Funeral Honors ceremony, which will be
conducted on request, include: Flag Folding, Flag Presentation and the Playing of Taps.

If the family of an eligible veteran requests Funeral Honors through their funeral director, the
funeral director should contact the appropriate Military Service to arrange for the Funeral Honors
detail. The Department of Defense has established a toll free line (1-877-MIL-HONR) for use only
by Funeral Directors to request honors. The Services request at least 48-hours in order to organize
the Funeral Honors detail.



http://www.dmdc.osd.mil/mfh

Texas State Veterans Cemetery

Veterans are eligible to be buried in a Texas State Veterans Cemetery. Funeral homes should work
with the families who choose to have their loved ones buried in a Texas State Veterans Cemetery
to determine the type of interment the family wishes. Options to be considered are a full-casketed
burial, in-ground burial of cremated remains, a columbarium niche for cremated remains, or the
scattering of ashes in the memorial garden.

The funeral home should ask the family to provide a copy of the military discharge form (DD
Form 214) or other military service documents to ensure eligibility. If the funeral is for the spouse
of a veteran, the funeral home should request a copy of the marriage certificate. The funeral home
should contact the family’s Veterans cemetery of choice and make all of the arrangements for the
burial service.

Although viewing facilities are not available at the cemetery, and funeral services cannot be held
at Texas State Veterans Cemeteries, a family may request that a final committal service be
performed. Military Honors are performed during these committal services. Committal services
are held in committal shelters, followed by burial at the grave site. Floral arrangements will
accompany the casket or urn from the committal shelter to the grave site.

Some families may have retained cremated remains and wish to place them at a Texas State
Veterans cemetery. If this is the case, the family may contact the cemetery directly, without going
through a funeral home.

Contact the Veterans Land Board toll free at 1-800-252-VETS (8387) for questions.

Cemetery Ingress/Egress

Health & Safety Code §711.041 provides that any person who wishes to visit a cemetery or private
burial grounds for which there is no public access shall have the right to reasonable ingress and
egress for the purpose of visiting the cemetery or private burial grounds. The owner of the
property may determine reasonable hours of visitation and routes needed to access the cemetery.

Preneed Funeral Contracts

The Texas Department of Banking (DOB) regulates prepaid funeral merchandise or services.
Prepaid funeral merchandise and services are defined as goods and services sold on a prepaid
basis directly to the public for use in connection with future funeral services. Along with the
normal funeral service items, prepaid funeral merchandise and services also include opening and
closing of the grave and outer-burial containers. The term does not include a grave, marker,
monument, tombstone, crypt, niche, plot, or lawn crypt unless it is sold in contemplation of trade
for a funeral service or funeral merchandise.

Any funeral home or cemetery that sells prepaid funeral merchandise or services in Texas must
have: (1) a trust-funded permit issued by the DOB or (2) sell through an insurance-funded permit
holder.

Further information can be accessed at the DOB’s website at www.dob.texas.gov.



http://www.dob.texas.gov/

Perpetual Care Cemetery

A cemetery operated as a perpetual care cemetery means that a perpetual care fund for its
maintenance has been established in conformity with state law. Perpetual care means the
maintenance, repair and care of the cemetery. The Texas Department of Banking (DOB), not the
Commission, licenses perpetual care cemeteries.

Cemetery brokers must register with the DOB. A cemetery broker is defined as a person who sells
the exclusive burial right in a cemetery for another person, essentially an unaffiliated third party.

The law clarifies the procedures a cemetery broker must take in documenting the sale of a plot
with a cemetery organization.

Just for Fun

I think this is how my kids feel:

HERE T AM, WAITING FOR
THE BUS. ELEVEN MORE
YEARS OF SCHOOL TO GO.
THEN COLLEGE, THEN MAYBE
GRADUATE. SCHOOL., AND THEN

I WORK UNTIL 1 DIE.




Agency Contact Information

Mailing Address

Texas Funeral Service Commission
PO Box 12217, Capitol Station
Austin, TX 78711
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Kathy Sparks

512) 936-2469
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