Texas Funeral Service Commission
Provisional Funeral Director Program
Guidelines

Read all requirements and instructions carefully. Questions regarding the Provisional Funeral
Director Program should be addressed at the onset of participation.

e The provisional program is a 12 month program. A provisional license is only eligible for
ONE renewal after the first 12 months of the provisional program. The renewal period
cannot exceed 12 months.

e All requirements needed for full licensure MUST be completed before the provisional
license expires.

e The licensee must be employed by a licensed Funeral Establishment for the duration of the
program

e Funeral director provisional licensees are not allowed to complete work in a commercial
embalming establishment.

e A minimum of 45 cases is required for the Funeral Director provisional program.

e Each Funeral Director provisional licensee must perform 10 complete cases. A complete
funeral directing case consists of all major actions from the time of first call through
interment or other disposition of the body.

e All casework must be submitted directly to the FDIC in typewritten or legible format.

e The provisional licensee shall keep a copy of the monthly training reports. The FDIC shall
keep the original monthly training reports. These reports must be maintained for two years
from the date the provisional program is completed.

e Personal supervision must meet the standard outlined under Texas Occupations Code
8651.306.

e Provisional licensees must immediately notify the Commission in writing of any change in
personal mailing address, name, and/or employment.

It is the responsibility of the provisional license holder to adhere to the above
requirements. Failure to comply with instructions given may result in a delay in
completing the program or in cancellation of the license.
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Texas Funeral Service Commission
Provisional Funeral Director
Application Checklist & Instructions

In order to be considered for licensure, please submit the following:

g

APPLICATION FOR ADMISSION INTO THE PROVISIONAL FUNERAL DIRECTOR
PROGRAM. All sections must be complete. If you answered yes to either question 1 or 2 on page
one of the application, complete the “Criminal History Questionnaire for Applicants” Form and
submit all requested information.

FEES. The fee for admission into the provisional licensing program is $93.00 per license
application. Make check or money order payable to the Texas Funeral Service Commission.
Application fees are non-refundable.

PROOF OF ENROLLMENT OR GRADUATION FROM AN ACCREDITED MORTUARY
SCHOOL OR COLLEGE. Submit official/certified transcript from the Mortuary School from which
you graduated or proof of enrollment from the Mortuary School in which you are currently enrolled.
Proof of enrollment means a letter from the school/college stating that you are currently enrolled and
does not mean a copy of classes. Note, if you are seeking an exemption under Tex. Occ. Code
651.302(c), please check appropriate box on application.

“ROLE & RESPONSIBILITY OF THE FDIC IN SUPERVISING A PROVISIONAL LICENSE
HOLDER” FORM.

FBI BACKGROUND CHECK. Please only submit fingerprints after you have submitted this
application to the TFSC.

TEXAS MORTUARY LAW EXAM SCORE AND DATE TAKEN. Under Tex. Admin. Code, Title
22, Part 10, Rule 203.5(n), an applicant must pass the State Mortuary Law Exam prior to being
issued a provisional license.

Please note: Incomplete applications or applications submitted without fees will not be processed and
will be returned to the applicant with no action taken.

It is unlawful to practice funeral directing in the state of Texas prior to the issuance of a
provisional funeral director license. Mortuary students may participate as necessary as the course
of study dictates, but must do so under direct supervision of a licensed funeral director.
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Texas Funeral Service Commission
Provisional Funeral Director Application

All fields are mandatory and incomplete applications will not be processed.

Name Date of Birth SSN

Address

Street Address or P.O. Box (if P.O. Box is mailing address physical address is mandatory)

City State County Zip Telephone Number

Name, address and telephone number of funeral establishment employed

Establishment license number

Name and License Number of Funeral Director in Charge (FDIC)

Criminal History
1. Have you ever been convicted of a felony, found guilty of or entered a plea of guilty or no
contesttoafelony? YES __ NO .
2. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor, found guilty of or entered a plea of guilty or no
contest to a misdemeanor? YES _ NO .

If you answered yes to ANY of the above questions, complete the “Criminal History Questionnaire for
Applicants” Form and submit all requested information. Your application for licensure will not be
considered until this form and requested information is received.

Name of High School Date graduated/GED received

Name of Mortuary School currently enrolled/graduated
1 1 have never been enrolled in mortuary school and | am seeking an exemption from the
requirement | be enrolled in mortuary school. | understand this exemption is for period of no
more than 12 months and is valid only for first 12 months of the license. I understand prior to
renewal of this license, | must provide proof of enrollment to the Commission or my license will

not be renewed.

Date of Mortuary Law Exam: Score:

All information provided on this application will be verified by the Texas Funeral Service Commission.
Please be advised that falsification of any portion of this document could result in the denial of license
issuance.



Please check boxes below to affirm statement and sign.

1 I hereby certify that I am an employee, on a steady and continuous basis, and will serve under the
supervision of the licensee whose signature appears on this application.

1 | further certify that | have carefully read the questions on this application and have answered
them completely and truthfully.

1 | declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all other statements or information
submitted by me in this application process are true and correct. If it is determined at any time
that 1 have provided misleading or false information on or in support of this application, I
understand that my application may be denied.

71 1 agree | will immediately notify the Commission in writing of any change in my personal
mailing address, name, and/or employment.

Applicant Signature

Mail completed Application to:

Texas Funeral Service Commission
333 Guadalupe, Suite 2-110
Austin, Texas 78701



Role & Responsibility of the FDIC
Provisional Licensing Program

It is the responsibility of the Funeral Director in Charge (FDIC) to maintain the professional standards of
the Commission’s statute and rules while supervising a provisional licensee. The provisional licensee
and the FDIC share in the responsibility in adhering to the rules and requirements of the Provisional
Program.

TAC 8§203.22, Funeral Director In Charge, requires that the FDIC retain all original documents
pertaining to the cases worked by a provisional licensee for two years from the completion date of the
provisional program. All documents must be produced upon request by the Commission.

Questions concerning your supervisory role in the Provisional Program may be directed to the
Provisional Licensing Technician at 512-936-2474.

The following form must be submitted with the Provisional License Application. Both the applicant and
FDIC also should keep a copy of the signed form.

ROLE AND RESPONSIBILITY OF THE FDIC IN SUPERVISING A
PROVISIONAL LICENSE HOLDER

If the establishment employs a provisional licensee it is the responsibility of the designated FDIC and
the provisional licensee to schedule case work sufficient for the Provisional Program. It is also the
responsibility of the designated FDIC to ensure that each provisional licensee is properly supervised
while performing cases (which OAG opinion 98-042 defines as being in the same room). This
supervision includes the operations of any activities associated with casework assigned to the
provisional licensee.

By signing this document 1/We attest that I/We have read the above instructions and agree to
abide by the rules and regulations regarding the provisional program. In addition, 1/We fully
understand what is required and expected of all the licenses involved.

Provisional Licensee Printed Name Signature Date

FDIC Printed Name Signature Date



Instructions for Obtaining Fingerprint
Criminal Record Checks for Licensure

ORI Funeral Commission’s Service Code - - 11G72Y

IN-STATE APPLICANTS
1. AFTER SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION - Schedule an appointment to be
electronically fingerprinted by MorphoTrust USA at one of their IdentoGo enrollment
centers.
e To schedule an appointment over the Internet (quickest method):

a. Begin the process at this link:
https://uenroll.identogo.com/servicecode/11G72Y and then click “Schedule
an Appointment”

b. Provide all required pre-enrollment data and select a convenient date and
time for your appointment

e To schedule an appointment over the telephone:

a. Have your Service Code ready (11G72Y), then call 888.467.2080;

b. MorhphoTrust will prompt you for the Service Code (11G72Y);

c. Provide all required pre-enrollment data and select a convenient date and
time for your appointment

2. Arrive at your scheduled appointment with your photo identification and fee
e If you plan on bringing a form of identification other than a valid (unexpired)
Texas Driver’s License, please refer to the Department of Public Safety’s
acceptable document types here:
http://www.l1enrollment.com/state/forms/tx/55fc619a7f7aa.doc
e MorphoTrust accepts Visa/MasterCard/Discover/American Express, business
checks, money orders and coupon codes (employer accounts) at the time of
service.
e Please note that personal checks and cash are not accepted.
3. Your fingerprints will be submitted electronically to DPS and the FBI. You will not
receive a printed fingerprint card.
4. At the conclusion of your appointment, the MorphoTrust enroliment agent will provide
you with an IdentoGo receipt stating that you were fingerprinted.
e Do not throw away the receipt!
e You may check status on your submission by clicking on this link
https://uenroll.identogo.com/servicecode/11G72Yand then click “Check Status”

Fingerprints provided for this application shall be used to check criminal history records of the
Texas Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, in accordance with
applicable statutes.


https://uenroll.identogo.com/servicecode/11G72Y
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OUT OF STATE APPLICANTS
1. Pre-enroll with MorphoTrust USA to submit fingerprint cards.
a. To pre-enroll over the Internet (quickest method):

Begin the process at this link:
https://uenroll.identogo.com/servicecode/11G72Y and then click “Schedule an
Appointment”

On the next screen, click the “Pay for Ink Card Submission” button and complete
all required fields on the following page

Complete payment screen

Print the confirmation document containing a bar code and complete by signing
the waiver and filling in contact information

b. To pre-enroll over the telephone:

Have your Service Code ready (11G72Y), then call 888.467.2080

Inform the MorhpoTrust representative that you wish to pre-enroll for a “hard card
submission”

Once payment is complete a summary confirmation document will be emailed to
you

Print the confirmation document and complete by signing the waiver and filling in
contact information

2. Obtain a copy of your fingerprints by a criminal law enforcement agency on an original
FBI APPLICANT fingerprint card that includes: Funeral Commission TX923439Z.
ALL requested information must be provided on the fingerprint card and you and the
official taking the fingerprints must sign the card

3. AFTER SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION - Once you have obtained your

fingerprint cards, follow mail-in directions on the MorphoTrust Pre-Enrollment
Confirmation Page that you previously printed and completed.

You may check the status by clicking: https://uenroll.identogo.com/servicecode/11G72Y and
then click “Check Status”

Fingerprints provided for this application shall be used to check criminal history records of the
Texas Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, in accordance with
applicable statutes.
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