Texas Funeral Service Commission
Crematory Application Guidelines

All applicants when applying for a new crematory license must comply with Texas
Occupations Code Section 651.657, Crematory Establishment License Application, and
Texas Administrative Code Section 205.3, Crematory License Requirement and
Procedure, by supplying all the required documentation, including the Health and Fire
Inspections.

An application for a crematory license is required for the following situations:
e New Crematory

Name Change of Existing Crematory

Ownership Change of Existing Crematory

Location Change of Existing Crematory

Read all requirements and instructions carefully. Please attach the following documents
with your application:

o Licensing Fee of $462.00

o Compliance Forms

o General Price List

o Authorization to Cremate Form
Fire Inspection Form (or letter in lieu of if not required by local government)
Health Inspection Form (or letter in lieu of if not required by local government)
TCEQ Air Quality Control Permit
Certified Operator Affidavit
Franchise Tax Addendum for those taxable entities formed in Texas or doing
business in Texas (*see last page of application)
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Upon receipt and approval of the items listed above, the crematory will be contacted to
schedule a physical site inspection by the TFSC inspectors.

No license will be issued until all documents are received and processed AND all
Inspections are completed.

333 Guadalupe St, Suite 2-110, Austin, Texas 78701
512-936-2474
Email: info@tfsc.texas.qgov Website: www.tfsc.texas.gov
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Texas Funeral Service Commission
Crematory Application

Name of Crematory
Physical Address

(street) (city) (zip)
Mailing address (if different from above)

Email

Telephone Number Fax Number

Is this crematory on tax exempt property? Yes No

Is this crematory on/adjacent to a perpetual care cemetery? Yes No
Name of Cemetery

Is this crematory on/adjacent to a funeral establishment? Yes No
Name of Funeral Establishment License #

Is this crematory on/adjacent to a commercial embalming facility? Yes No
Name of commercial embalming facility License #

Please check all that apply:
o New Establishment
o Name Change *
o Ownership Change *
o Physical Location Change *
* Provide the name and license number of existing establishment for changes starred above:

Is there a crematory in the service area, county or city that bears a similar name?

o No
o Yes— Name:

EMPLOYEE LISTING
Certified personnel employed and active in this crematory (attach additional sheet if necessary):

Name Certification #
Name Certification #
Name Certification #
Name Certification #

Non-certified personnel actively employed in this crematory (attach additional sheet if
necessary):




TYPE OF BUSINESS
o Sole ownership / Name:
o Partnership / Name:
o Corporation / Name:

List names and addresses of the sole owner, partners, or officeholders/shareholders with more
than 25 percent interest of the corporation (attach additional sheet if necessary).

Name
Title
Address

Name
Title
Address

Name
Title
Address

Tex. Occ. Code 651.657(b)(3) requires the application to include a statement from each individual listed as an owner
or partner detailing the individual’s business experience from the past 10 years, any felony or misdemeanor
conviction of the individual; any involvement of the individual as a defendant in a civil action involving allegations
of fraud; and a suspension by this state or any other state of any license related to funeral directing or the operation
of a cemetery or crematory. Please include the required information as an addendum to the application.

As the owner or primary officer of the crematory:

« | hereby consent to reasonable inspection of this crematory and its records for compliance
with the Mortuary Laws of the State of Texas at such times as may be designated by the
Texas Funeral Service Commission.

« | shall designate to the Commission a Certified Owner/Operator, and such Certified
Owner/Operator shall be directly responsible for all operations of the licensed crematory.
Any change to the designation shall be given to the Commission within 15 days.

. | affirm that the statements and information contained in this application are true and
correct.

Signature Title



Certified Operator
Affidavit

Name:

Certification #

| am the Certified Owner/Operator and responsible for the legal and ethical operation of this
crematory. | understand that 1 may be served with administrative process when violations are
alleged to have been committed by the crematory or an employee of the crematory. | will notify
the Commission in writing immediately if and when the relationship is terminated. | certify to
the correctness of the information contained in this application.

Certified Owner/Operator Signature



ADDENDUM
FRANCHISE TAX

Tex. Admin. Code 203.13 requires any corporate applicant for a license or permit issued by the
Texas Funeral Service Commission to certify in writing that its franchise taxes are current, that
the corporation is exempt from payment of the franchise tax, or that it is an out-of-state
corporation that is not subject to the Texas franchise tax. If this facility is a taxable entity
formed in Texas or doing business in Texas (*see below), the certification below must be
completed and returned with the application.

FRANCHISE TAX CERTIFICATION

| hereby certify that , the owner of

Name of Entity Name of Funeral Establishment

, in the city of , Texas is:

a Current on the payment of its Texas franchise tax
o Exempt from payment of the Texas franchise tax

o An out-of-state entity that is not subject to the Texas franchise tax

Name & Title of Officer:

Franchise Tax ID Number:

| understand that any false statement as to the corporate franchise tax status on this certification
is ground for disciplinary action. | hereby state under oath that the statements contained herein
are true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

Signature

* Entities Subject to Franchise Tax - - Each taxable entity formed in Texas or doing business in Texas must file and
pay franchise tax. These entities include: corporations; limited liability companies (LLCs), including series LLCs;
banks; state limited banking associations; savings and loan associations; S corporations; professional corporations;
partnerships (general, limited and limited liability); trusts; professional associations; business associations; joint
ventures; and other legal entities.



