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Texas Funeral Service Commission 

Embalmer 

Application Checklist & Instructions 

 
Read all requirements and instructions carefully.  

 This application is open only to a person who previously held a provisional license in Texas within 

the 24 months prior to filing this application.  

 A minimum of 45 cases is required, 10 of which must have been complete cases. A complete 

embalming case means handlings all major actions included in TAC§203.32 performed on a 

particular body. 

 The case report logs must be signed by the person who supervised the case and the FDIC/EIC.  

 

 

In order to be considered for licensure, please submit the following:  

 

 APPLICATION FOR EMBALMER LICENSE. All sections must be complete.  If you answered yes 

to either question 1 or 2 on page one of the application, complete the “Criminal History 

Questionnaire for Applicants” Form and submit all requested information.  

 

 FEE. The application fee is $93.00.  Make check or money order payable to the Texas Funeral 

Service Commission.  Application fees are non-refundable. 

 

 PROOF OF GRADUATION FROM AN ACCREDITED MORTUARY SCHOOL OR COLLEGE. 

Submit official/certified transcript from the Mortuary School from which you graduated.  

 

 FBI BACKGROUND CHECK.  Please only submit fingerprints after you have submitted this 

application to the TFSC. 

 

 TEXAS MORTUARY LAW EXAM SCORE AND DATE TAKEN. Under Tex. Admin. Code, Title 

22, Part 10, Rule 203.1(3), an applicant must re-take and pass the State Mortuary Law Exam, upon 

application for full licensure.   

 

 NATIONAL BOARD EXAMINATION SCORE. Submit official scores from The International 

Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards for National Board Examination – Science.  

 

 CASE LOGS. Submit copies of case report logs showing 45 total cases. Cases must be signed by 

person who supervised the work and the FDIC/EIC of the establishment.  

 

 

Incomplete applications or applications submitted without fees will not be processed and will be 

returned to the applicant with no action taken.  

 

 

NOTE: It is unlawful to practice embalming in the state of Texas without a valid 

embalmer’s license.  
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Texas Funeral Service Commission 

Embalmer Application 
 

All fields are mandatory and incomplete applications will not be processed.   

 
Name __________________________________Date of Birth___________SSN___________________ 

Address ____________________________________________________________________________ 
Street Address or P.O. Box (if P.O. Box is mailing address physical address is mandatory) 

____________________________________________________________________________________ 

        City                                           State                                                  County                           Zip    Telephone Number 

Provisional Embalmer License # ___________________________ Date Expired __________________ 

 

High School _______________________________________ Date graduated/GED received_________ 

 

Mortuary School ______________________________________________ Date Graduated __________ 

 

Date of Mortuary Law Exam __________________________ Score ____________________________ 

 

Date of National Board Exam – Science ___________________________ Score __________________ 

 

NOTE: The Commission only retains provisional license files for 12 months after the provisional license 

was cancelled. Even if you had previously submitted any information, you must resubmit the 

information for the application to be considered.  

 

Criminal History: 

1. Have you ever been convicted of a felony, found guilty of or entered a plea of guilty or no 

contest to a felony?  YES ____NO ___ 

2. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor, found guilty of or entered a plea of guilty or no 

contest to a misdemeanor? YES ____NO ___ 

3. I have previously appeared before the Commission regarding convictions. YES ____NO ____ 

 

If you answered yes to questions 1 or 2, complete the “Criminal History Questionnaire for Applicants” 

Form and submit all requested information. Your application for licensure will not be considered until 

this form and requested information is received.  

 

 
All information provided on this application will be verified by the Texas Funeral Service Commission.  

Please be advised that falsification of any portion of this document could result in the denial of license 

issuance.   
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Please check boxes below to affirm statements and sign.  

 

 I certify I have carefully read the questions on this application and have answered them 

completely and truthfully.   

 

 I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all other statements or information 

submitted by me in this application process are true and correct.  If it is determined at any time 

that I have provided misleading or false information on or in support of this application, I 

understand that my application may be denied. 

  

 

 

       ____________________________________ 

      Applicant Signature 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mail completed Application to:  

 

Texas Funeral Service Commission 

333 Guadalupe Suite 2-110 

Austin, Texas 78701 
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Instructions for Obtaining Fingerprint  

Criminal Record Checks for Licensure 

 

ORI Funeral Commission’s Service Code - - 11G72Y 
 

IN-STATE APPLICANTS 

1. AFTER SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION - Schedule an appointment to be 

electronically fingerprinted by MorphoTrust USA at one of their IdentoGo enrollment 

centers.  

 To schedule an appointment over the Internet (quickest method):  

a. Begin the process at this link:  

https://uenroll.identogo.com/servicecode/11G72Y and then click “Schedule 

an Appointment” 

b. Provide all required pre-enrollment data and select a convenient date and 

time for your appointment 

 To schedule an appointment over the telephone:  

a. Have your Service Code ready (11G72Y), then call 888.467.2080; 

b. MorhphoTrust will prompt you for the Service Code (11G72Y);  

c. Provide all required pre-enrollment data and select a convenient date and 

time for your appointment 

2. Arrive at your scheduled appointment with your photo identification and fee  

 If you plan on bringing a form of identification other than a valid (unexpired) 

Texas Driver’s License, please refer to the Department of Public Safety’s 

acceptable document types here: 

http://www.l1enrollment.com/state/forms/tx/55fc619a7f7aa.doc  

 MorphoTrust accepts Visa/MasterCard/Discover/American Express, business 

checks, money orders and coupon codes (employer accounts) at the time of 

service.  

 Please note that personal checks and cash are not accepted.  

3. Your fingerprints will be submitted electronically to DPS and the FBI. You will not 

receive a printed fingerprint card. 

4. At the conclusion of your appointment, the MorphoTrust enrollment agent will provide 

you with an IdentoGo receipt stating that you were fingerprinted.  

 Do not throw away the receipt! 

 You may check status on your submission by clicking on this link  

https://uenroll.identogo.com/servicecode/11G72Yand then click “Check Status” 

 

Fingerprints provided for this application shall be used to check criminal history records of the 

Texas Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, in accordance with 

applicable statutes.  

 

https://uenroll.identogo.com/servicecode/11G72Y
http://www.l1enrollment.com/state/forms/tx/55fc619a7f7aa.doc
https://uenroll.identogo.com/servicecode/11G72Y
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OUT OF STATE APPLICANTS 

1. Pre-enroll with MorphoTrust USA to submit fingerprint cards.  

a. To pre-enroll over the Internet (quickest method):  

 Begin the process at this link:  

https://uenroll.identogo.com/servicecode/11G72Y and then click “Schedule an 

Appointment” 

 On the next screen, click the “Pay for Ink Card Submission” button and complete 

all required fields on the following page  

 Complete payment screen 

 Print the confirmation document containing a bar code and complete by signing 

the waiver and filling in contact information 

b. To pre-enroll over the telephone:  

 Have your Service Code ready (11G72Y), then call 888.467.2080 

 Inform the MorhpoTrust representative that you wish to pre-enroll for a “hard card 

submission” 

 Once payment is complete a summary confirmation document will be emailed to 

you 

 Print the confirmation document and complete by signing the waiver and filling in 

contact information 

 

2. Obtain a copy of your fingerprints by a criminal law enforcement agency on an original 

FBI APPLICANT fingerprint card that includes: Funeral Commission TX923439Z. 

ALL requested information must be provided on the fingerprint card and you and the 

official taking the fingerprints must sign the card 

 

3. AFTER SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION - Once you have obtained your 

fingerprint cards, follow mail-in directions on the MorphoTrust Pre-Enrollment 

Confirmation Page that you previously printed and completed.  

 

 

You may check the status by clicking:  https://uenroll.identogo.com/servicecode/11G72Y and 

then click “Check Status” 

 

Fingerprints provided for this application shall be used to check criminal history records of the 

Texas Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, in accordance with 

applicable statutes. 

 

 

https://uenroll.identogo.com/servicecode/11G72Y
https://uenroll.identogo.com/servicecode/11G72Y

